Ride or Die OCA4LIFE!
Log In:
Overclockaholics Forums » Overclocking Section » Overclocking » Freezing after stress testing

Notices

Overclocking Air & Water...

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-15-2011
Chuchnit's Avatar
Chuchnit Chuchnit is offline
MIA POML
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Work
Posts: 4,307
Rep Power: 16
Chuchnit will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Splave View Post
some type of voltage spike or something when it stops?
Hell if I know, but the boot up is faster with the new firmware. What I'm experiencing is what the new firmware is supposed to fix. Well not to a T, but something like it. Freezing and slow response and such.

As far as a voltage spike... idk man. I mean at first I was thinking the same thing because I only noticed it when I stopped the test. Then I noticed if I let it run long enough that it would pull the same stunt while running. Running prime blend now to see what it does. I'm thinking my next steps are:
  1. Fresh BIOS flash
  2. New OS
  3. Swapping RAM slots
  4. Switch RAM
  5. I don't know....
__________________


http://www.overclockaholics.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=5&pictureid=13
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-15-2011
Mr.Scott's Avatar
Mr.Scott Mr.Scott is offline
Classicplatforms Warrior
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 750
Rep Power: 12
Mr.Scott will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Then I noticed if I let it run long enough that it would pull the same stunt while running.
Hardlock?
Hardlocks are usually heat or power related.
__________________

Last edited by Mr.Scott; 05-15-2011 at 12:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-15-2011
Chuchnit's Avatar
Chuchnit Chuchnit is offline
MIA POML
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Work
Posts: 4,307
Rep Power: 16
Chuchnit will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Scott View Post
Hardlock?
Hardlocks are usually heat or power related.
Eventually yes but it starts first with me trying to make say realtemp the active window. Then it will "stop responding". After that I will hard lock immediately or just be able to move the mouse but can't open any programs or windows. If it doesn't hard lock I will see the little spinning thing most of the time like it's trying to do something.
__________________


http://www.overclockaholics.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=5&pictureid=13
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-15-2011
Mr.Scott's Avatar
Mr.Scott Mr.Scott is offline
Classicplatforms Warrior
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 750
Rep Power: 12
Mr.Scott will become famous soon enough
Default

Got it. I understand now. That happens to me sometimes if I lean on a system too hard for too long benching. It's a heat issue usually, in my circumstances anyway.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-15-2011
Chuchnit's Avatar
Chuchnit Chuchnit is offline
MIA POML
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Work
Posts: 4,307
Rep Power: 16
Chuchnit will become famous soon enough
Default

re-timming in a few.
__________________


http://www.overclockaholics.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=5&pictureid=13
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-15-2011
Chuchnit's Avatar
Chuchnit Chuchnit is offline
MIA POML
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Work
Posts: 4,307
Rep Power: 16
Chuchnit will become famous soon enough
Default

Ok I tried a run at stock clocks for giggles and its doing the same thing. :( I'm guessing there is some software issue?? Guess I will skip down to OS and go ahead with a tim job. This is agrivating as hell!
__________________


http://www.overclockaholics.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=5&pictureid=13
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-15-2011
DrNip's Avatar
DrNip DrNip is offline
Don't Know
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OKC
Posts: 5,144
Rep Power: 10
DrNip might just be on to something hereDrNip might just be on to something here
Default

You on a c300?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-15-2011
Chuchnit's Avatar
Chuchnit Chuchnit is offline
MIA POML
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Work
Posts: 4,307
Rep Power: 16
Chuchnit will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrNip View Post
You on a c300?
Ya two in R0
__________________


http://www.overclockaholics.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=5&pictureid=13
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-15-2011
DrNip's Avatar
DrNip DrNip is offline
Don't Know
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OKC
Posts: 5,144
Rep Power: 10
DrNip might just be on to something hereDrNip might just be on to something here
Default

I am still on firmware 2 and not one problem. Dunno if you can flash back to it though. I had all types of problems with my drive on my 1366 Asus platform but haven't had those problems on 1155, 1156 or AM3 platform. I also had problems getting my 2600k stable. I could get it to pass any stress test I threw at it but then it would crash periodically while cruising the web, burning a dvd and what not. Trying to remember what I did. I messed with some voltage. Think it was the pch or vccio. I do know that I ended up putting it on auto and the problem went away. Let me plug in a USB keyboard and look at the BIOS to see what I jacked with.

EDIT: It was the PCH voltage. Dunno if this will help.

Last edited by DrNip; 05-15-2011 at 05:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-15-2011
kikicoco1334's Avatar
kikicoco1334 kikicoco1334 is offline
OCA Gladiator
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brentwood TN
Posts: 4,477
Rep Power: 15
kikicoco1334 is on a distinguished road
Default

you may already answered this question and i may of just missed it but can you move the mouse or it just 100% locks up dose nothing?

i'd say try jaw down all the settings and just run everything 100% stock and then a new os with just a stander sata hdd if you have one or ide just to see what's up

if that dosn't lock up at all then you start one by one put the settings back
it's gonna take FOREVER but that's the best way doing it to me at least
__________________
Memory IC List
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -10. The time now is 11:01 PM.

Copyright 2009-2014, Overclockaholics

Designed by: vBSkinworks