Ride or Die OCA4LIFE!
Log In:

Notices

Single Stage & Cascade Cooling Single & Multi Stage Phase Change...

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 11-04-2011
Splave's Avatar
Splave Splave is offline
Beyond Help
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7,331
Rep Power: 21
Splave will become famous soon enough
Default

^thats way too much voltage for 5.1ghz

should be doable at 1.4ish on ss
__________________
2nd place in SPi32m

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vivi View Post
when those trolls start making love your VGA has no chance!
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 11-04-2011
GFDuke's Avatar
GFDuke GFDuke is offline
OCA Gladiator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ferenginar
Posts: 2,825
Rep Power: 16
GFDuke is on a distinguished road
Default

SS dosn't stand a chance against a 980x imo. Stick with the SB.
__________________
DUKES PC MODING PAGE


Ferengi rule of acquisition #8: " Small print leads to large risk. "
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 11-04-2011
Neuromancer's Avatar
Neuromancer Neuromancer is offline
OCA Gladiator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Jersey, USA
Posts: 5,645
Rep Power: 20
Neuromancer might just be on to something hereNeuromancer might just be on to something here
Default

yeah I was using 1.575 at 5.5 GHz Dont think I needed that much, think it was the DDR ref voltages causing freezing
__________________
"Don't You understand? This is Greek to me! Except I spek Greek, this is like Aramaic to me, and not the Western Dialect I can read a little." - Dr. Walter Bishop

Special relativity is not "Eat Two Big Macs."
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 11-04-2011
Witchdoctor's Avatar
Witchdoctor Witchdoctor is offline
OCA Gladiator
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6,039
Rep Power: 19
Witchdoctor will become famous soon enough
Default

My chip takes 1.65 to do 5532 mhz..............

My other can only do 5450 but at 1.51 ....

I agree with Duke ss and 980 = not going to cut it
__________________
You don't need a reason to help people
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 11-04-2011
Neuromancer's Avatar
Neuromancer Neuromancer is offline
OCA Gladiator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Jersey, USA
Posts: 5,645
Rep Power: 20
Neuromancer might just be on to something hereNeuromancer might just be on to something here
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Witchdoctor View Post
My chip takes 1.65 to do 5532 mhz..............

My other can only do 5450 but at 1.51 ....

I agree with Duke ss and 980 = not going to cut it
Hmm, maybe I am doing it wrong then.
__________________
"Don't You understand? This is Greek to me! Except I spek Greek, this is like Aramaic to me, and not the Western Dialect I can read a little." - Dr. Walter Bishop

Special relativity is not "Eat Two Big Macs."
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 11-04-2011
MaadDaawg's Avatar
MaadDaawg MaadDaawg is offline
Beyond Help
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,040
Rep Power: 18
MaadDaawg is on a distinguished road
Default

I think I just got lucky and got a fraked chip
__________________

www.maaddaawg.com
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 11-04-2011
lesstutrey's Avatar
lesstutrey lesstutrey is offline
Aspiring Overclocker
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: West of Chicago
Posts: 55
Rep Power: 13
lesstutrey is just getting started
Default

Yeah, most SS handle about 300w of heat.. gulftowns get much higher than that, more like the 500w range for worthy clocks. You can watch a SS fail by having it's cold side get to warm and bug out and not be able to cool the wattage. Bloomfields don't do too bad on SS either, but you've a SB.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 11-05-2011
Witchdoctor's Avatar
Witchdoctor Witchdoctor is offline
OCA Gladiator
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6,039
Rep Power: 19
Witchdoctor will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post
Hmm, maybe I am doing it wrong then.

lol ........... no my 55 multi chip is just beaten down .....

Possibly on it's way out unfortunatly ..........
__________________
You don't need a reason to help people
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 11-05-2011
Neuromancer's Avatar
Neuromancer Neuromancer is offline
OCA Gladiator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Jersey, USA
Posts: 5,645
Rep Power: 20
Neuromancer might just be on to something hereNeuromancer might just be on to something here
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Witchdoctor View Post
lol ........... no my 55 multi chip is just beaten down .....

Possibly on it's way out unfortunatly ..........
Oh, I did not think of that, I just assumed I had something set differently in the BIOS to allow more juice to flow that I was not aware of
__________________
"Don't You understand? This is Greek to me! Except I spek Greek, this is like Aramaic to me, and not the Western Dialect I can read a little." - Dr. Walter Bishop

Special relativity is not "Eat Two Big Macs."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -10. The time now is 08:07 PM.

Copyright 2009-2014, Overclockaholics

Designed by: vBSkinworks