Ride or Die OCA4LIFE!
Log In:
Overclockaholics Forums » Overclocking Section » Overclocking » Freezing after stress testing

Notices

Overclocking Air & Water...

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 05-15-2011
Chuchnit's Avatar
Chuchnit Chuchnit is offline
MIA POML
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Work
Posts: 4,307
Rep Power: 16
Chuchnit will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrNip View Post
I am still on firmware 2 and not one problem. Dunno if you can flash back to it though. I had all types of problems with my drive on my 1366 Asus platform but haven't had those problems on 1155, 1156 or AM3 platform. I also had problems getting my 2600k stable. I could get it to pass any stress test I threw at it but then it would crash periodically while cruising the web, burning a dvd and what not. Trying to remember what I did. I messed with some voltage. Think it was the pch or vccio. I do know that I ended up putting it on auto and the problem went away. Let me plug in a USB keyboard and look at the BIOS to see what I jacked with.

EDIT: It was the PCH voltage. Dunno if this will help.
Well my SSD's came with 006 and Crucial says you can't back flash to the older firmware. I just wrapped up the re-install of the OS and proggies. I have a few ideas of things to test out with this fresh install with the first being testing without SP1 installed. Plus I'm going to test P95 on a HDD and SSD to see if that makes a difference. I tried all kinds of PCH volts with no help. Hell I was having this problem at stock clocks!!

Edit: Well I'm running some custom Prime95 blend right now and I just noticed my RAM is slightly warm to the touch. This is at 1.6v and default 1333mhz. I gotta go to bed but I'll have to pay close attention to those temps tomorrow. For all I know that could have something to do with it too.
__________________


http://www.overclockaholics.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=5&pictureid=13

Last edited by Chuchnit; 05-15-2011 at 04:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-16-2011
Chuchnit's Avatar
Chuchnit Chuchnit is offline
MIA POML
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Work
Posts: 4,307
Rep Power: 16
Chuchnit will become famous soon enough
Default

New tim job on CPU + fresh OS without SP1 = everything fine at 4.7ghz. Installed the Corsair ram cooler and the memory is cool to the touch now. Next step is to install SP1 to see if things get fubarred again. Temps on the CPU are the same btw. Contact was great when I pulled the cooler off last night.
__________________


http://www.overclockaholics.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=5&pictureid=13
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-16-2011
Witchdoctor's Avatar
Witchdoctor Witchdoctor is offline
OCA Gladiator
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6,039
Rep Power: 17
Witchdoctor will become famous soon enough
Default

Nailin it down bro ...............
__________________
You don't need a reason to help people
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-16-2011
Chuchnit's Avatar
Chuchnit Chuchnit is offline
MIA POML
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Work
Posts: 4,307
Rep Power: 16
Chuchnit will become famous soon enough
Default

It just shows you how long since I've overclocked in a case, hehe. I'm used to a bench table and fans everywhere.
__________________


http://www.overclockaholics.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=5&pictureid=13
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-17-2011
Chuchnit's Avatar
Chuchnit Chuchnit is offline
MIA POML
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Work
Posts: 4,307
Rep Power: 16
Chuchnit will become famous soon enough
Default

I was just doing a search and ran back across this thread. The actual fix was a reg hack. Here is the thread on crucial forums. Drives work fine now.

http://forum.crucial.com/t5/Solid-St...-me/td-p/38766
__________________


http://www.overclockaholics.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=5&pictureid=13
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06-17-2011
Kal-EL's Avatar
Kal-EL Kal-EL is offline
Superenthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Krypton, Hawaii
Posts: 11,013
Rep Power: 10
Kal-EL is on a distinguished road
Default

Nice find Chuch
__________________
What kind of community do you intend to re-build?
tell me your sins and I'll sharpen my knife...(Take me to church)
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-17-2011
Neuromancer's Avatar
Neuromancer Neuromancer is offline
OCA Gladiator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Jersey, USA
Posts: 5,645
Rep Power: 18
Neuromancer might just be on to something hereNeuromancer might just be on to something here
Default

Thanks for updating us

Did you have high performance mode set under power settings?

I have seen mentioned that one should enable hotplugging in BIOS to get applications to work better, but I thought that was only linux based things like Gparted or other bootable apps. And I have not needed to do so.


EDIT: Holy Crap! MS has known aboutthis problem for a long time

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/wind.../gg463521.aspx
__________________
"Don't You understand? This is Greek to me! Except I spek Greek, this is like Aramaic to me, and not the Western Dialect I can read a little." - Dr. Walter Bishop

Special relativity is not "Eat Two Big Macs."

Last edited by Neuromancer; 06-17-2011 at 11:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06-17-2011
Witchdoctor's Avatar
Witchdoctor Witchdoctor is offline
OCA Gladiator
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6,039
Rep Power: 17
Witchdoctor will become famous soon enough
Default

Great stuff guys,

This has been driving me crazy
__________________
You don't need a reason to help people
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06-17-2011
Chuchnit's Avatar
Chuchnit Chuchnit is offline
MIA POML
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Work
Posts: 4,307
Rep Power: 16
Chuchnit will become famous soon enough
Default

Rich I enabled high performance mode both os installs. This is a problem with RST drivers and crucial drives. LPM hax fixed my issue like everyone else on crucial forums. You guys need a pic guide on how to to this? I know I had to create the reg entries before running the .reg file.
__________________


http://www.overclockaholics.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=5&pictureid=13
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 06-19-2011
Neuromancer's Avatar
Neuromancer Neuromancer is offline
OCA Gladiator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Jersey, USA
Posts: 5,645
Rep Power: 18
Neuromancer might just be on to something hereNeuromancer might just be on to something here
Default

No pics needed here, but feel free. Glad you got it sorted out!

Intel RST10 drivers are apparently causing issues with lots of newer drives. OCZ and corsair both have recommendations on using MS drivers with certain drives.
__________________
"Don't You understand? This is Greek to me! Except I spek Greek, this is like Aramaic to me, and not the Western Dialect I can read a little." - Dr. Walter Bishop

Special relativity is not "Eat Two Big Macs."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -10. The time now is 01:25 PM.

Copyright 2009-2014, Overclockaholics

Designed by: vBSkinworks